As promised I’m finally getting around to listing the books I picked up at SBL. Since I’ve really only just picked up with real Pauline studies, I’m just now building my library of Pauline studies beyond commentaries. After talking with a couple of friends working on Paul, I pulled together this list of a few key works on Paul–both general and ones that relate to my thesis. Do you think I missed anybody important?

Pre-New Perspective
Albert Schweitzer, The Mysticism of Paul the Apostle
Albert Schweitzer, Paul and His Interpreters
William Wrede, Paul
Robert Tannehill, Dying and Rising With Christ

Post-New Perspective
Ed Sanders, Paul and Palestinian Judaism
Jimmy Dunn, The Theology of Paul the Apostle
Tom Wright, The Climax of the Covenant: Christ and the Law in Pauline Theology
Jerome Murphy-O’Connor, Paul His Story
Stephen Westerholm, Perpectives Old and New on Paul: The Lutheran “Paul” and His Critics
Margaret Mitchell, The Heavenly Trumpet: John Chrysostom and the Art of Pauline Interpretation
Richard Hays, Echoes of Scripture in the Letters of Paul
Lou Martyn, Theological Issues in the Letters of Paul

Other
Bernard McGinn (ed.), The Essential Writings of Christian Mysticism*
BibleWorks 7

* Random House just had McGinn to sign a bunch of these and was giving them away just as I walked by. It’s quite a volume with 2-3 page selections from major historical writers on different areas of mysticism. It covers deification (i.e., theosis) along with all sorts of other angles on mysticism.

