I was brought up on the NIV, and I’ve been reading the TNIV since I got a free copy a couple of years ago. Its major changes were for gender inclusive language, but they also took the opportunity to revisit other passages. Most seemed to be only minor changes, but I’ve come across a wholesale reformulation of Philemon 6:

Greek: ὅπως ἡ κοινωνία τῆς πίστεώς σου ἐνεργὴς γένηται ἐν ἐπιγνώσει παντὸς ἀγαθοῦ τοῦ ἐν ἡμῖν εἰς Χριστόν.

NIV: I pray that you may be active in sharing your faith, so that you will have a full understanding of every good thing we have in Christ.

TNIV: I pray that your partnership with us in the faith may be effective in deepening your understanding of every good thing we share for the sake of Christ.

Glad they took the chance to change it, because I think the TNIV has the better translation.

