Following up on my previous post about unicode fonts… Nijay had some font issues with SPIonic when sending a file to someone.  He found out from David Instone Brewer (the Tyndale House tech guy) that there are apparently two versions of the SPIonic font, but they don’t work with one another.  When I googled this, I couldn’t find anything to back it up.  I’ve had similar issues, and I thought it was just the computer I was on.   [Update: It turns out that the copy of SPIonic I had was not 'true type' (look in your Windows: Font folder to see). I don't know how I got the old/bad version, but it defiitely won't work for others, read the JSNT editor.]

I was almost convinced by a friend here to start using GFS Elpis as the unicode font for my work.  But it turns out that it is a ‘Open Type’ font instead of a ‘True Type’ font.  But he also let me know that Word will only let you embed true type fonts.  (Embedding the font makes it available to anyone who opens the file, whether or not they’ve downloaded the font onto their system.)  I’m not sure how it would make a difference if it’s unicode, but just in case I’m sticking with Gentium.  Can anybody tell me why they haven’t come up with a font with Greek and Hebrew?

[Duh! I don’t read very well because Cardo is a ‘True Type’ font that has both Greek and Hebrew! See my other post for details.]

