What evidence is there to discuss the issue of Paul and Culture? Many turn first to Acts 17, or questions of education. I am not opposed to this, but my concern at this point is what we can find from his letters.

I’m rushing off to a trip to Europe with my family (so this isn’t comprehensive), but these are some things that speak for Paul’s positive and negative engagement with culture.

Positive:
I have become all things to all people (1 Cor 9).
The household codes in Colossians and Ephesians are often noted a accommodation to culture.
He allows people to eat with others, even if offered to an idol (1 Cor 9-10)
In distinction to Hebrews 11.13 and 1 Peter 2.11, I can’t think of any time where Paul speaks of Christians as being aliens. However, the longing in Rom 8/2 Cor 5 may be noted, but that’s more soteriological than cultural.
Paul worked, and thus engaged in economic exchange.

Negative:
His use of the world, this age, the god of this age
He definitely challenges the ethics and religion of the G-R culture (cf. Rom 1.18-32)
food interaction
Anti-imperial language

The list could be fuller, but no time now. What would you add?

