I’m doing a short series on BibleWorks 8.  Here’s part 1.

Though this doesn’t apply just to BW8, I think it’s definitely worth mentioning since I use this feature regularly: BW has a powerful feature that allows you to integrate information from other sources: from online and other software.  I consider this one of the most impressive things about BW and a clearly positive signal that they aren’t just in a protectionist stance.  They rightfully recognise that  modern users have a variety of tools and that BW cannot provide all of them.  In fact, BW’s website says that they intentionally focus on ancient primary texts and related tools but not the plethora of other materials that could be integrated.  I think this is a fine way to proceed, especially if they allow outlets to those other sources.

The two ways that BW allows you to integrate external sources are 1) Ermie (External Resource Manager) and 2) External Links.  Ermie, which is new to BW8 and greatly adds to its value, is quite robust with links a huge number of websites and online resources like Google books.  The range of topics go from languages, dictionaries, commentaries, preaching resources, theology, and beyond.  (Resources: Ermie, I wonder why it isn’t in the External Resources option?).  I don’t use this resource near as much as I could and should.  On a day to day basis the External Links are more of a use for me.

External Links: About 4 years ago, I wanted a copy of BDAG but didn’t want a paper version.  Since I didn’t yet own BW, I went with the Logos/Libronix version based upon a recommendation from someone one and the ability to search specific aspects (by gloss, definition, etc.).  Being pleased with their formatting, I have accumulated other key resources on Logos (IVP dictionaries, TDNT, ABD, and LSJ–anybody know when the OLD will be coming out?).  Also, along the way I started using BW and after poking around I was introduced to BW’s External Links, which are the means to integrate with other sources.  Now that I’ve set up LSJ as an External Link , I just have to right click (in BW) on a Greek word and after selecting the option, LSJ will open up in Logos to that word.  It’s obviously not as easy as looking at it in the analysis window directly in BW, but you get the page numbering and Logos’ formatting.  So I’ll leave it up to you as to which is more important. 

So, I’ll point you to the key places that explain this and also give some details about how to go about it in case you don’t want all the detail other places or can’t decifer it.  I’m focusing just on BW to Logos, but there are many other relationships that you can set up.  Greek based items are easier to set up than Hebrew, but you can also do things based upon verse references.

The BibleWorks unofficial blog is great for this stuff.  For LSJ tips see here.  See also here.  For linking other resources see here.

Basics:

1) You have to update Libronix to accept calls from BW with the PowerTools Addin.

2) Set up the External Links:  Go to: Resources: Edit External Links.  Use the following information for LSJ.  You can also edit the ShellExec.ini with a text editor if you want to just copy/paste the following information for each link.

//
// External Link #24
//[Liddell-Scott-Jones (Logos)]
Operation = Open
Directory = NULL
File = libronixdls:macro|name=TextKeyLink|text=|lang=el|scheme=beta|res=LLS:46.30.25
Parameters = NULL
MenuLocation = Browse Window Greek
TextType = Greek Text
MapToVersion = NULL
Lookup = Lemma
MenuText = Liddell-Scott-Jones (Logos)
Enabled = 1

libronixdls:macro|name=TextKeyLink|text=|lang=el|scheme=beta|res=LLS:46.30.18 (for BDAG)
libronixdls:macro|name=TextKeyLink|text=|lang=el|scheme=beta|res=LLS:46.10.26 (for EDNT)
libronixdls:macro|name=TextKeyLink|text=|lang=el|scheme=beta|res=LLS:46.10.16 (for TDNT)

