A friend of mine was asking about Aberdeen, and I happened to visit their Divinity page.  While there I noticed that they had finally filled the Kirby Laing Chair of NT Exegesis with Steve Mason, the well-known Josephus scholar.  I’m glad they’ve got somebody good for the position, especially since the NT faculty is facing more transition with Jane Heath leaving to fill Durham’s NT opening created by the retirements of Stephen Barton and Bill Telford.

Just as important, though, is the announcement that Tom Greggs was appointed as a systematics professor.  I met Tom when he was on a summer sabbatical here in Durham a couple of years ago.  He’s definitely a smart chap, reaching the professor position at a young age, but also very approachable.  With Webster and Greggs in Aberdeen, I can’t think of a better place to study systematics in the UK.

