I’ve been doing a little work on the history of “apocalyptic” in Pauline scholarship, and I’ve got this phrase stuck in my head that I thought I read in J. Louis Martyn somewhere but can’t find it.  It goes something like “There was no salvation history before the cross”.  There are surely several places that it could be from–essays in his Theological Issues or in his Galatians commentary.  I didn’t find it there in my quick skim through key sections.  There are a few phrases close in meaning though not in wording in his ‘Events in Galatia: Modified Covenantal Nomism versus God’s Invasion of the Cosmos in the Singular Gospel: A response to J. D. G. Dunn and B. R. Gaventa’ in J. M. Bassler (ed.), Pauline Theology volume 1: Thessalonians, Philippians, Galatians, Philemon (Minneapolis: Augsburg Fortress, 1991), pp. 160-179, esp 171-76.  Anyone have an idea where this is, or if I’ve just created it in my head, or if someone else said it (possibly Käsemann)?

Also, as a side note, there is no wikipedia page for Martyn.  Seems like a hole that someone who knows some of his history should fill in.

