Durham is a great place to study with a great background of scholarship. Here is a sampling of well known NT lecturers at Durham: J.B. Lightfoot, B.F. Westcott, Alfred Plummer, C.K. Barrett, C.E.B. Cranfield, James D.G. Dunn, John M.G. Barclay, Loren Stuckenbruck, and Francis Watson, not to mention the other areas. At the same time, the school has also produced a good number of well known scholars, such as Simon Gathercole, Ben Witherington, Don Garlington, Bruce Longenecker, Stephen Finlan, Helen Bond, Paul Trebilco, Maurice Casey, Judith Lieu,… One other person of note is N.T. Wright, who is now Bishop of Durham and who shows up periodically to the NT Seminar.

The Lightfoot Professor of Divinity is a prestigious chair among those in UK theological departments. Here is a history of those that have held the position that I have pulled together:
John M.G. Barclay, New Testament (2003-Present)
James D.G. Dunn, New Testament (1982-2003)
C.K. Barrett, New Testament (?-1982)
Douglas R. Jones, Old Testament (1964-?)
R.P.C. Hanson (1962-1964)
C.F. Evans (1959-1962)
H.E.W. Turner (1950-1958)
S.L. Greenslade (1943-1950)
[There was a little discrepancy in the early 1980’s and 1960’s of the dates the chair was held. For instance the DR Jones obituary says he held it until 1985, but CK Barrett held it at the time of his retirement in 1982, which is a date recently confirmed at his 90th Birthday.]

Ben Witherington has also done a post on his views of Durham Tradition.

There are a couple of other chairs here at Durham also named after former bishops:
The B.F. Westcott Professor in Biblical Studies at Durham
Loren T. Stuckenbruck, (first and current holder)

The Van Mildert Professor of Divinity at Durham
Mark McIntosh (2009 – ) [Hired but won’t begin work until 2009, currently at Loyola Univ, Chicago]
David Brown (1990-2007)
Daniel W. Hardy (1986-1990)
Stephen Sykes (1974-1985)
S.L. Greenslade (1950s)
A.M. Ramsey (1940s)

The Bede Chair of Catholic Theology
Lewis Ayres (2009 – )

This paper also has some interesting history on the University of Durham.