Here’s a quote from my wife’s blog, that is so true of us both….

I guess after living somewhere for a while you tend to take on a little bit of that culture, right?

Here is why, after my visit to Berlin, I think I may be a bit more British:

I actually looked the wrong way when crossing the street in Berlin. I am definitely used to people driving on the left now.
You have to know that ‘queue jumping’ (cutting in line) in England is like the ultimate sin. People are overly polite when you are at a bus stop. When the bus arrives, everyone tries to make sure that whoever was standing there first, even if you aren’t queued up, gets on the bus first. In Berlin, everyone just pushes their way on. It all seemed rather rude to me (and I’m not sure it would have if I had been visiting from America).
The rain didn’t bother me much…and it POURED the 2nd day we were there.
I couldn’t manage to say ‘cents’ in reference to the Euro. I kept saying ‘pence’.
It didn’t seem strange that I had to walk a few blocks, take a bus, take a train, and take a metro to get to the airport and then do that all in reverse when I got home.

It actually felt like home when I was crossing the footpath from the train station to the bus stop when I returned to Durham. Guess you can say that we have all adjusted well after being here for nearly a year. What a blessing!

A few of my own:
I kept saying £-pounds instead of €-euros.
I told Heather it was a short walk to the U-Bahn stop (she told me it was probably close to 1/2 a mile.)
It’s an adjustment to speak American English. (I heard that those who go back to the States sound like they are snobby or something by using the British-speak (words and intonation) they pick up. So I tried to shift back so as to not put the Americans off.)

