The one program that I use most often other than PDA Scholar is Pocket E-Sword. It’s a Bible program that has a huge list of free Bibles and others that you can buy, and the best part is that the program is free.

Greek: I most often use the ‘Westcott-Hort Greek New Testament (w/Strong’s Numbers)’. It’s got parsing for all the words and also a quick link to the Strong’s definition for each word. It’s a great companion for using Zondervan’s Reader GNT. The ‘Greek New Testament (with variants)’ is also nice if I’m just wanting to do some reading without all the added stuff from the WH GNT version. The LXX is just straight text–no variants or parsing like the two above.

English: the English Standard Version (ESV) seems to be the most up to date modern translation that is free. I’m glad it has at least one, and the ESV is as good as any.

German: The Elberfelder Bible is the 1905 version, but it is decently readable. I worked through Romans 4-5 on it the other night since I didn’t have BibleWorks available, and I didn’t find it archaic at all. On the other hand, the Luther version is the 1912 version, and it was VERY archaic. So looks like the Elberfelder will be my choice for on the fly.

Other Stuff: You can get a whole text of ISBE (International Standard Bible Encyclopedia), Robertson’s Word Pictures of the NT, Spurgeon’s daily devotionals, and Wesley’s Notes on the Bible, among other things. Again, these are all free. Not too bad.

As I said, I use the WH GNT all the time for parsing and definitions, and its text is very similar to the NA27 version. So I guess Westcott and Hort did a pretty good job. Westcott was a bishop of Durham, so what can you expect?

