So this is quite belated, but I am finally getting around to doing a quick post about my 2007 SBL trip.  I had a good time, but the lack of sleep definitely began to wear on my by the end of it.  I went to ETS, IBR, and SBL.  I particularly enjoyed meeting quite a few bibliobloggers this year and other US-UK postgrads.  I also heard several good papers, and the session between Tom Wright and John Barclay was both entertaining and enlightening–it’s always good to hear your supervisor explain his overarching view of your subject area!  I also had a nice breakfast with Mike Gorman (along with Nijay Gupta).  My research interests overlap at points with Mike’s and he graciously offered to chat about it with me. 

Main book purchases: LSJ on Logos; The Apostolic Fathers (Greek-English, 3rd ed.) by Holmes; St. Cyril of Alexandria and the Christological Controversy by J. McGuckin; Judaism and the Early Christian Mind: A Study of Cyril of Alex.’s Exegesis and Theology by R.L. Wilken; On the Unity of Christ by St. Cyril of Alex. (trans by J.A. McGuckin); The Demonstration of the Apostolic Preaching by Irenaeus (trans by J. Behr); and A Community Called Atonement by Scot McKnight.

The best part of the trip was getting to hang out with one of my best buds from my Ouachita days–Lee Cook, who lives in the LA area.  Look out for his work in the future–he’s a pastor at heart with the mind of an academic, who is making steps towards publishing. 

