I moved with my family to Houston a couple of days ago to begin the next stage in our life journey.  It is warm here, but not as bad as I was expecting–though my wife says I’ve just adjusted better because of all my years in Dallas/Arkansas (she’s from Michigan).  There are a few bits of reverse culture shock–the size of things and the lack of recycling–but as with most things you just get on with it and settle right in.  My parents, by moving in the furniture and cleaning the carpets before we arrived, were very helpful and made the transition much easier.  We didn’t realize that the house used gas so I didn’t set that up before arriving, hence we have no hot water.  But one benefit of 100 degree weather is that the water comes out lukewarm on its own. : )  There are a few more small things to get settled, but we’re almost there.

